2013 Women & Young Women of Distinction and Promise Award Honorees
Courage Award

  Dr. Jacqueline S. Allen
Allen Endondontic Group

An endodontist in Phoenix, Dr. Allen uses her clinical experience to benefit those around her. She volunteers with several dental clinics and coordinates the Arizona Mission of Mercy, which provides basic dental care to underserved members of the community.  


Sheree Lopez
Girl Scout – Peoria

Sheree’s own successful fight with cancer inspired her to create a program to help other teens cope with a cancer diagnosis as her Girl Scout Gold Award project. She is a senior at Centennial High School, and, besides maintaining a 3.55 GPA, she also finds time to participate on the swim team and tutor other students..

Leadership Award 

  Debroah Bateman
National Bank of Arizona

Deborah is dedicated to improving our community and generously gives her time (500+ hours a year) and expertise to a number of community organizations. She also believes strongly in women’s leadership potential and success and serves as a mentor to fellow female banking executives. She is Executive Vice President and Director of Wealth Strategies at National Bank of Arizona. 

Diana Greymountain
Girl Scout – Page

Diana earned her Girl Scout Gold Award for rerouting a local hiking trail in northern Arizona to simplify navigation while not disturbing the landscape or animals. For her efforts, she was invited by Anna Maria Chavez, CEO of Girl Scouts of the USA, to attend the Presidential Medal of Freedom Ceremony at the White House in May 2012, , and was later awarded the President’s Volunteer Service Award in March 2013. 

Visionary Award 

   Dr. Marilyn Seymann, Ph.D. 
Caring Capital

Marilyn is passionate about issues of domestic violence and domestic minor sex trafficking in our state and continues to help raise awareness about these issues as well as addressing solutions. She is CEO of Caring Capital, an organization that helps groups work to create solutions to social issues. 

Morgan Serventi
Girl Scout – Page

Morgan received her Girl Scout Gold Award for creating a Methane Bio Digester for a village in Kenya, which converts methane into fuel that can power a stove. This made it possible for village residents to prepare hot meals and boil unsanitary water. She is a Senior Girl Scout, and has logged in countless hours of community service, all with the goal of making the world a better place. 

Promise Award

  John O. Whiteman is being recognized for his philanthropic and service endeavors to make the lives of children richer by providing them with opportunities for success. He is the founder of Educare Arizona, a program that helps overcome the achievement gap between children in poverty and their more resourced peers. 


Lisa Urias is being recognized for her efforts to support the Hispanic community and develop nonpartisan solutions to the immigration debate as the founder of the “Real Arizona Coalition.” Besides dedicating her time to this group, she is the CEO of Urias Communications, an advertising, marketing and public relations firm that helps companies tap into multicultural markets. 


Fry’s Food Stores is being recognized for their many charitable contributions to the Arizona community. They continue to uphold the corporate belief in supporting the communities where their stores are located with funding, food and volunteering, and are proud to support organizations that promote the advancement of women.